November 24, 2014

Who We Are

May 30, 2013

As now constituted, the Committee of Concerned Scientists enjoys the leadership of 13 Executive Committee members (co-chairs and vice-chairs), 25 National Sponsors, and an Advisory Board of scientists, physicians, engineers, and scholars.


Joel L. Lebowitz, Rutgers University

Paul H. Plotz, M.D., Washington, DC

Walter Reich, George Washington University

Eugene Chudnovsky, Lehman College

Alexander Greer, Brooklyn College


Astronomy – Arno Penzias, New Enterprises Associates*

Biology – Max E. Gottesman, Columbia University

Chemistry – Zafra Lerman, MIMSAD Inc.

Computer Science – Jack Minker, University of Maryland, College Park

Engineering – Philip Sarachik, Polytechnic Institute of New York University

Mathematics – Simon Levin, Princeton University

Medical Sciences – J. Joseph Blum, Duke University

Physics – Joseph Birman, City College of New York

Past Co-chairs

Robert S. Adelstein, National Institutes of Health

Jack Cohen, Tel Aviv University

Max E. Gottesman, Columbia University

Mark Kac (deceased), University of Southern California

Peter S. Pershan, Harvard University

Fred Pollak (deceased), Brooklyn College

Melvin Pomerantz, Lawrence
Berkeley Laboratory

H. Eugene Stanley, Boston University

National Sponsors

David Baltimore, California Institute of Technology*

Alan J. Bard, University of Texas

Jacob Bigeleisen (deceased), SUNY, Stony Brook

Raoul Bott (deceased), Harvard University

Owen Chamberlain (deceased), University of California, Berkeley

Thomas Eisner, Cornell University

Edward Gerjuoy, University of Pittsburg

Pierre Hohenberg, New York University

Kurt Isselbacher, Massachusetts General Hospital

Jerome Karle, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory*

Walter Kohn, University of California, Santa Barbara*

James Langer, University of California, Santa Barbara

Benjamin Lax, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Peter Lax, New York University

Louis Nirenberg, New York University

Marshall Nirenberg (deceased), National Institutes of Health*

John C. Polanyi, University of Toronto*

Stuart Rice, University of Chicago

Myriam Sarachick, City College of New York

Harold Scheraga, Cornell University

Sylvan Schweber, Brandeis University

Andrew Sessler, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

Lawrence Shepp, Rutgers University

Maxine Singer, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Alfred I. Tauber, Boston University

Charles Townes, University of California, Berkeley*

Steven Weinberg, University of Texas, Austin*

Myrna Weissman, Columbia University

Rosalyn S. Yalow (deceased), Mount Sinai School of Medicine*

Advisory Board Members

Mark Alber, Notre Dame University

Bruce Alberts, University of California, San Francisco

Joan Birman, Columbia University

Marvin Bishop, Manhattan College

Sidney Bludman, Universidad de Chile

Sylvain Cappell, New York University

Milton Cole, Penn State University

Stanley Deser, Brandeis University

Richard Ebright, Rutgers University

Xin-Yuan Fu, Indiana University

Robert Gregerman, University of Texas San Antonio

James Griffin, University of Maryland

Robert B. Griffith, Carnegie Mellon University

Bertrand Halperin, Harvard University

Julian Heicklen, Penn State University

B. Loerinc Helft, CUNY

Richard Herman, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Peter Hotez, Bailor College of Medicine

Andy Kent, New York University

Simon Levin, Princeton University

Walter Neumann, Columbia University

Charles Newman, New York University

Peter Pershan, Harvard University

Murray Peshkin, Argonne National Laboratory

Melvin Pomerantz, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Gerald Porter, University of Pennsylvania

Daniel Prober, Yale University

Elisabeth Rachlew, Royal Institute of
Technology (KTH)

Anthony Ralston, Royal Roads University

Ivor Robinson, University of Texas

Harold Scheraga, Cornell University

Sidney Simon, Duke University

Thomas Spiro, University of Washington

Ralph G. Steinhardt, George Washington University

Edward Stern, University of Washington

Svetlana Stone Wachtell

Earl Taft, Rutgers University

Betty Tsang, Michigan State University

Norman Zabusky, Weitzman Institute

Executive Director

Sophie Cook

Past Executive Director

Dorothy Hirsch, Emerita

Affiliation for identification purposes only

* Nobel laureate